Annual General Meeting 18 November 2019

The Federation’s second Annual General Meeting was held at the Polding Centre – Monday 18 November 2019. The AGM was followed by a Members’ Forum. Both events were well supported by members and other attendees.

Br Paul Oakley cfc and Leonie Keaney both retired at the AGM.
The members elected Fran Warner (Good Samaritan Education) and Peter Leuenberger (Edmund Rice Education Australia) to replace Br Paul and Leonie.

Following the AGM the council elected Dr Frank Malloy as Chair for the ensuing 12 months, Paul Mastronardi as Deputy Chair and Peter Leuenberger as Treasurer. Kathleen Guerin continues in the role as Secretary.

The Federation was delighted to have Jacinta Collins Executive Director of the National Catholic Education Commission, as guest speaker at the Forum. Jacinta discussed Religious Exemptions in Anti-Discrimination Legislation.
A number of staff, along with Dallas McInerney from Catholic Schools NSW also made presentations on the day.

Photos from the day

The Education Policy Committee

Much of the Federation’s important work is carried out by its Education Policy Committee, established by the Federation’s Council during early 2018. The membership of this committee is:

Kitty Guerin – Councillor & Committee Chair
Chair of Board – Brigidine College, St Ives
Chair of Board – St Lucy’s School, Wahroonga

Jane Curran
Principal – Brigidine College, St Ives

Tony Fitzgerald
CEO/Principal – Mater Dei, Camden

Jennie Hickey
Executive Officer – Jesuit Education Australia

John Kyle-Robinson
Regional Director – Marist Schools Australia (NSW & ACT)

Professor Marea Nicholson
Chair- Education Committee – Catholic Religious Australia

Dr Anne Wenham
Head of College – St Stanislaus’ College, Bathurst

Each member is a senior educator, providing valuable insight. The committee meets regularly, maintaining an issues-based focus in a range of areas. It is the point of contact between the Federation and Catholic Schools NSW (CSNSW), contributing to discussion and communicating with principals of the 45 RI and PJP member schools. Important issues during 2019 have included Nationally Consistent Collection of Data on Students with Disability; capital funding through the NSW Catholic Block Grant Authority; the NSW Curriculum Review; and, planned changes to the methodology for determining recurrent funding of non-government schools.

During this year, a survey of principals conducted by the committee provided valuable data on the support needs of RI & PJP schools, to assist in working with CSNSW towards services and representation in a relationship that best targets schools’ unique requirements. On 16 August 2019, the Education Policy Committee hosted its third Principals’ Forum. The meeting was well attended and we encourage attendance at future gatherings as they are seen as beneficial connections for principals.
The meeting outlined the work being undertaken in the development of a memorandum of understanding between Canonical authorities and provided opportunity for principals to discuss their most important needs and for the leadership of CSNSW to respond to them. Dallas Mcinerney, Chief Executive Officer of CSNSW informed principals that a working group, including representation from CSNSW was continuing to work through the detail of new funding arrangements, and that while confidentiality agreements prevented disclosure of specific information, CSNSW had undertaken to provide support and assistance to schools in dealing with potential financial impacts upon them. We encourage schools to take up this offer of support.

Other important connections by the committee have been with Sydney Catholic Schools and the leadership of NESA, providing opportunity to discuss the respective parties’ contributions to Catholic education.

Section 83C Guidelines

Not-for-profit guidelines for non-government schools, first issued in September 2015, have recently been revised and may be accessed here.

Section 83C of the Education Act 1990 (the Act) requires all non-government schools to operate on a “not-for-profit” basis within the meaning of the Act in order to be eligible for funding from the NSW Government. These guidelines provide practical guidance for schools to assist them to comply with the Act in common financial transaction and record keeping areas.

Emergency Management for Schools

Catholic Schools NSW is providing training in emergency management for schools and support through its emergency management manual and template.
Dr Tony McArthur, a senior experienced school and system administrator in diocesan and congregational schools is available to provide further information and may be contacted by mobile on 0421 647 811 or by email at

16 August 2019 Principals’ Forum

Principals’ Forum Outline

On 16 August the Federation held its 3rd principals’ forum “Focus on Services to Schools” at the Polding Centre.
Principals heard presentations from Council Chair Paul Oakley and committee members along with valuable feedback from Dallas Mcinerney, Chief Executive Officer at CSNSW and Danielle Cronin, Director of Education Policy at CSNSW.
Principal’s Briefing notes provided to attending principals are below along with the PowerPoint Presentation.

Principals’ Briefing Notes

Principals’ Forum 16 August 2019

Photos from the day